top of page
  • Rachel Johns

Grades of Muscle Injury

Muscles ~ Physiotherapy

Muscle strain injuries can be graded into four categories based on the extent of damage to the muscle fibers. According to research by Mueller-Wohlfahrt H-W, et al. Br J Sports Med (2013), the four categories are as follows:

Type 1 and Type 2 muscle injuries are “Functional Muscle Injuries,” meaning they are symptomatic without actual tissue damage.

Type 3 and Type 4 are “Structural Muscle Injuries” that involve damage to the actual muscle fibers.

Type 1: Over-exertion related muscle disorder, including fatigue-induced muscle injuries or delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS) post exercise.

Type 2: Neuromuscular muscle disorders which may be spine-related or muscle-related.

Type 3: Minor or moderate partial muscle tear.

Type 4: Subtotal or complete muscle tear, including tendinous avulsion.

Appropriate rehab is so important for muscle injuries to promote healing and reduce the risk of further injury. Be sure to see your Physio as soon as possible if you suspect a muscle strain or tear.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page